Crafting for health: Kathryn Vercillo’s book ‘Crochet saved my life.’

Do you know anyone who is depressed, has MS, arthritis, or any other mental, physical or chronic illness?

In this post I want to draw your attention to a book about the benefits of crafting for your own health. I’m reading it now and it gave me so much food for thought, and even more, food for my hands! I’m crafting more than ever.
I was not aware of the fact that there had been a lot of research about the benefits of crafting. This made me very aware of the importance for me. I survived several depressions, and off and on I have to fight a big battle when it recurs. Crafting helps me. This book helps me.

Here you can read a book review that gives a good idea about the book:

“The book opens with Kathryn’s own battle with depression, and continues with one gripping and amazing story after another of despair and relief through crocheting. The book is also chock-full of scientific research, and it’s immediately obvious to anyone reading it that the message reaches far beyond crocheting: crafting, particularly tactile and engaging crafting, does wonders for the spirit. Grab this book if you’re stressed/anxious/depressed and are looking for a light at the end of the tunnel. Read it for inspiration from powerful women who have turned their lives around. If you have a friend/relative struggling with mental illness, read it as a way to gain insight into their experience- as Kathryn has a gift for putting into words ideas that usually remain hiding in the back of peoples’ minds. You might even want to read what’s inside this book so you’ll have an excuse for squeezing in more crocheting!” – Stacey Trock of FreshStitches

 

Image-of-Cover-for-Crochet-Saved-My-Life-713x1024

Read more about the book: http://crochetsavedmylife.kathrynvercillo.com

The author of ‘Crochet saved my life’ is now writing her second book ‘Hook to heal’. You can read more about it here: http://www.indiegogo.com/crochetconcupiscence.

5 responses

  1. So glad to hear that you’ve been crafting more than ever! Thanks for sharing my book.

    1 February 2013 at 00:35

    • I’m proud you read my post and left me a message! I’m a big fan of your work and I’m talking the book and about the benefits of crafting whenever I have the opportunity.

      1 February 2013 at 09:47

  2. Pingback: Another Edition of Crochet Link Love! — Crochet Concupiscence

  3. Pingback: Link Love: Top Writing/Blogging/Creative Posts of the Week | Kathryn Vercillo

  4. Pingback: Special Thanks for my February Supporters — Crochet Concupiscence

I'm happy to receive your comment, compliment or question!